Asking for Truffle

aftA Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1
Dorothy St. James
Crooked Lane Books, September 12, 2017, release
Kindle ed, 304 pages, paperback also available
Genre(s) Cozy Mystery
Source Author’s Rep (NetGalley)

Other books in this series: none as yet

Synopsis:
When Charity Penn receives a letter saying she won a trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina complete with free cooking lessons at the town’s seaside chocolate shop, The Chocolate Box, she’s immediately skeptical. She never entered any contest. Her former prep school friend offers to look into the phony prize–only to end up drowned in a vat of chocolate.

Struck with guilt, Penn heads to the Southern beach town to investigate why he was killed. But as wary as she is of the locals, she finds herself lured into their eccentric vibe, letting her defenses melt away and even learning the art of crafting delicious chocolates. That is until delight turns bittersweet as she steps straight into the midst of a deadly plot to destroy the seaside town. Now, only Penn’s quick thinking and a mysterious cask of rare chocolate can save the town she’s learning to love. Rich and decadent, Asking for Truffle, the first in a new cozy series by Dorothy St. James, is sure to be a delectable read for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

About the Author:
dsjPseudonym for author Dorothy McFalls

Mystery author Dorothy St. James was born in New York but raised in South Carolina. She makes her home on an artsy island community in South Carolina with her husband, tiny little dog, and fluffy cat. Though writing has always been a passion for her, she pursued an undergraduate degree in Wildlife Biology and a graduate degree in Public Administration and Urban Planning. She put her educational experience to use, having worked in all branches and all levels of government including local, regional, state, and federal. She even spent time during college working for a non-profit environmental watchdog organization.

Switching from government service and community planning to fiction writing wasn’t as big of a change as some might think. Her government work was all about the stories of the people and the places where they live. As an urban planner, Dorothy loved telling the stories of the people she met. And from that, her desire to tell the tales that were so alive in her heart grew until she could not ignore it any longer. In 2001, she took a leap of faith and pursued her dream of writing fiction full-time.

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a free copy of this book by the author’s representative. I am providing an honest review for which I am receiving no compensation of any kind. All opinions are fully my own.
~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✭✭✭✭
The heroine in this book starts life trying to beat the stigma attached to her name. Her “loving family” has given her the moniker Charity Penn and treats her like a charity case. They ignore her as much as they possibly can. Only her half-sister Tina has anything to do with her. In fact, she calls her every day when she is away, just to be sure she is all right.

She’s recently split from her mafia-type boyfriend, Erik, the Cheese King. His parting gift was a nasty little dog, Stella. She does look over her shoulder from time to time to see if he has sent anyone after her.

She’s had this letter about winning a trip to Camellia Beach and some chocolate making lessons. Knowing she didn’t enter any contest, she makes the trip to find out what it’s all about. What she finds is quite a mixed bag.

On one hand, she has two very sweet older women offering her chocolate lessons and friendship. A very nice surfer dude, who sidelines as a lawyer. And a helpful detective from the county sheriff’s office.

Then, on the other hand, there’s the local police chief who doesn’t seem to see anything wrong and developers who want to take over the land under her feet. And secrets. So many secrets.

This book had me creeping through the dark a lot. Sneaking up stairways. In the end, the bad guy gets it, though. That’s one of the good things about cozies, they always have HEA.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

The Budding Ken

opening the mind and heart through poetry

Scattered Words

scribbles by Hemendra Dibaakor

Genealogy with a Rabbit - Seriously

graveyards, gravestones, genealogy, photography, family and fun

UndeniablySara

Learning how to live well with chronic illnesses through self healing.

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

issiaksonhudson

thoughts on thoughts.

LFBooks

One Woman Army and A Dog

Readin' Under Street-Lamps

everything books, served with a side of sarcasm.

Uptown Oracle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle.

Passionately Perusing

Librarian. Book blogger. Reader

NextDraft

The Day's Most Fascinating News

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

Life in prison...

It certainly wasn’t on my bucket list but it happened! Here are my stories of what life is like for women in prison xoxo

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

Life Has a Funny Way

Reviews of all the latest YA, Fantasy, Crime and Chic Lit novels

Quirky Reviews

Sleep is good, she said, and books are better

Inspired!!!

I only write what I'm inspired to, everything else seems mediocre

Charlie De Luca- Author

On life, writing and horses!

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

FNM

Book Reviews and More

The Daily Tales of Gregg Savage

Every day, I write a unique story for you to share and enjoy.

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

Crow On The Wire

Poetry and pictures with a sharp crow sensibility by Mark Tulin

The RhiView

Thoughts & Opinions of a Nerd Girl...

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Madame Writer

Writing Tips and Reading Reviews

word and silence

Poetry, History, Mythology

KASHiVOLOGY

The conversations

Elan Mudrow

Smidgens

The Bold Mom

...Looking for horror? Come in.

little word studio

arts + entertainment blog

authoranonblog

Letters from inside my head

Vox Humbug

Writer, Photographer, Madman

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Musings Undwindled

Medical Student, Compulsive Writer, Obsessive Reader, Constant Cook, F.R.I.E.N.D.S Fanatic, Harry Potter Enthusiast, A Fiery Independent Woman and A Ridiculously Childish Human Being

constant VARIABLE

Apologies for my apologies

The Black Cat Speaks

...from the dark comes a voice...

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

See How We Sew

Ideas Inspiration Information

Need To Read

The books of the world : right here, right now

Alina's Reading Corner

You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend

Out on a Limb Genealogy

Genealogy with love

%d bloggers like this: