Asking for Truffle

aftA Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #1
Dorothy St. James
Crooked Lane Books, September 12, 2017, release
Kindle ed, 304 pages, paperback also available
Genre(s) Cozy Mystery
Source Author’s Rep (NetGalley)

Other books in this series: none as yet

Synopsis:
When Charity Penn receives a letter saying she won a trip to Camellia Beach, South Carolina complete with free cooking lessons at the town’s seaside chocolate shop, The Chocolate Box, she’s immediately skeptical. She never entered any contest. Her former prep school friend offers to look into the phony prize–only to end up drowned in a vat of chocolate.

Struck with guilt, Penn heads to the Southern beach town to investigate why he was killed. But as wary as she is of the locals, she finds herself lured into their eccentric vibe, letting her defenses melt away and even learning the art of crafting delicious chocolates. That is until delight turns bittersweet as she steps straight into the midst of a deadly plot to destroy the seaside town. Now, only Penn’s quick thinking and a mysterious cask of rare chocolate can save the town she’s learning to love. Rich and decadent, Asking for Truffle, the first in a new cozy series by Dorothy St. James, is sure to be a delectable read for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

About the Author:
dsjPseudonym for author Dorothy McFalls

Mystery author Dorothy St. James was born in New York but raised in South Carolina. She makes her home on an artsy island community in South Carolina with her husband, tiny little dog, and fluffy cat. Though writing has always been a passion for her, she pursued an undergraduate degree in Wildlife Biology and a graduate degree in Public Administration and Urban Planning. She put her educational experience to use, having worked in all branches and all levels of government including local, regional, state, and federal. She even spent time during college working for a non-profit environmental watchdog organization.

Switching from government service and community planning to fiction writing wasn’t as big of a change as some might think. Her government work was all about the stories of the people and the places where they live. As an urban planner, Dorothy loved telling the stories of the people she met. And from that, her desire to tell the tales that were so alive in her heart grew until she could not ignore it any longer. In 2001, she took a leap of faith and pursued her dream of writing fiction full-time.

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a free copy of this book by the author’s representative. I am providing an honest review for which I am receiving no compensation of any kind. All opinions are fully my own.
~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✭✭✭✭
The heroine in this book starts life trying to beat the stigma attached to her name. Her “loving family” has given her the moniker Charity Penn and treats her like a charity case. They ignore her as much as they possibly can. Only her half-sister Tina has anything to do with her. In fact, she calls her every day when she is away, just to be sure she is all right.

She’s recently split from her mafia-type boyfriend, Erik, the Cheese King. His parting gift was a nasty little dog, Stella. She does look over her shoulder from time to time to see if he has sent anyone after her.

She’s had this letter about winning a trip to Camellia Beach and some chocolate making lessons. Knowing she didn’t enter any contest, she makes the trip to find out what it’s all about. What she finds is quite a mixed bag.

On one hand, she has two very sweet older women offering her chocolate lessons and friendship. A very nice surfer dude, who sidelines as a lawyer. And a helpful detective from the county sheriff’s office.

Then, on the other hand, there’s the local police chief who doesn’t seem to see anything wrong and developers who want to take over the land under her feet. And secrets. So many secrets.

This book had me creeping through the dark a lot. Sneaking up stairways. In the end, the bad guy gets it, though. That’s one of the good things about cozies, they always have HEA.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Deb's Art

Fiber, Fabric, Ceramic, Fiction, Website: www.debthumanart.com

Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks

...of Books (Book Review Blog)

The Pondering Knitter

An honest search for happiness, fulfillment, and new projects

Knits and Rambles

A yarn journey

Myra Beth Knits

Procrasta-knitting at its finest

knitsareforkids

My adventures in making yarn, knitting, crocheting and other crafty goodness

NICOLA KNITS

just me, waffling on about knitting, crochet and life

Tin Can Knits

modern seamless knits for the whole family

Knitting in the Park

A blog about knitting, homemaking and creative living

Knitting

Patterns, projects and techniques

The Ramblings of a Knitting Goddess

I knit. I laugh. I dream.

Eliza Vs. The World

Office worker by day; film & television reviewer, curly hair enthusiast, and lifestyle blogger by night (or whenever inspiration is nagging at the back of her head and won't shut up).

The Snowless Knitter

Adventures in life and knitting in a warm weather climate

Le Petit Saint Crochet

Sharing my thoughts about whimsical amigurumi, creative crochet, and running a handmade business.

the twisted yarn

Knitting, crochet, running, and silliness.

City Women & co

Wellbeing | Health | Lifestyle

Annabookbel

Noli domo egredi, nisi librum habes – Never leave home without a book.

Elite Star

Miles to go..

Jenniely

Award Winning UKYA Book Blogger, Book Reviews, Writing and Life

Just Nita

"A Positive Push"

The Art of Blogging

For bloggers who aspire to inspire

the Little Red Reviewer

Book Reviews: Scifi, Fantasy, and the stuff in between

The Bibliophagist

Reviewing young adult, new adult, and romance since 2013.

Just saying

A bored mum and wife with lots on her mind

must love reviews

Where books come to be loved

Itinerant Muse, L.L.C.

Content Writing & Proofreading Services

The Godly Chic Diaries

BY GRACE THROUGH FAITH

(CALIATH)

A land of ineptitude.

The Budding Ken

opening the mind and heart through poetry

Down the Rabbit Hole with Sir LeprechaunRabbit

Serious about Genealogy? Let this Olde Grey hare show you about

UndeniablySara

Learning how to live well with chronic illnesses.

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

issiaksonhudson

Garden of thoughts.

LFBooks

One Woman Army and A Dog

Readin' Under Street-Lamps

everything books, served with a side of sarcasm.

Uptown Oracle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle.

Passionately Perusing

Librarian. Book blogger. Reader

NextDraft

The Day's Most Fascinating News

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

Life in prison...

It certainly wasn’t on my bucket list but it happened! Here are my stories of what life is like for women in prison xoxo

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

Life Has a Funny Way

Reviews of all the latest YA, Fantasy, Crime and Chic Lit novels

Quirky Reviews

Sleep is good, she said, and books are better

Inspired!!!

I only write what I'm inspired to, everything else seems mediocre

Charlie De Luca- Author

On life, writing and horses!

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

%d bloggers like this: