Coming Home

Snowy Ridge: Love at Starlight, #1

Kris Jett

Self-Pub, Feb 2017

Kindle, 230 Pages

Only available in Digital format

Genre(s) Chic Lit, Contemporary Romance

Source Author’s newsletter

Other books in this series

Taking Chances (Wynn & Bryce) #2, Finding Me (Luci & Evan) #3

Also available:

CHRISTMAS AT STARLIGHT – (Amber & Nick) (Snowy Ridge: A Love at Starlight Novella, Book 0.5) (available FREE- http://bit.ly/2jcZfla)

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Jessie and her mother run the Starlight Pub in Snowy Ridge, Wisconsin. Jessie’s the one that everyone goes to when they need something. She can always help you out. She loves her life just the way it is. But now her mother tells her that her two estranged sisters are coming home to stay and work in the pub. Jessie can’t accept it.

Cade and his two brothers just moved to Snowy Ridge to open a snowmobile business. They’ve divided up the labor and Cade is doing the books. He’d rather be working on motorcycles back in Detroit. But family is everything and he’s committed to his brothers. Then he has a run-in with Jessie and can’t stop thinking about her.

Can these two troubled and unhappy people work together to help each other and their families to find the solution that lets them find their HEA?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is very appealing and certainly relates to the story inside. Kudos to the author for that!

The storyline wanders a bit, but I guess it gets the characters from the beginning to the end. I just think it could have been done a bit better.

The characters were introduced and developed and explained quite well. We saw them. We experienced their behavior in good and bad circumstances. And we had family members talk about them. So we pretty much got to know everything about the characters except for their deepest secrets, because we didn’t spend a lot of time inside their heads.

The pace again got us from the beginning to the end. As I started each chapter, I was never sure if I was going to be pulled into something interesting or if I was going to sit and sip a cup of coffee and complain about the same things.

The tension was intermittent. It just didn’t hold together.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰⭒

I don’t where the synopses for books come from on GoodReads, but this was at the end of the one for this book:

Fans of Jessie Evans, Bella Andre, and Susan Mallery will love the Love at Starlight series: stories featuring sassy mid-western women and the alpha males who love them.

To compare this book or series to the work of these authors is so wrong. These are award-winning authors who have been polishing their craft for several years and have earned the regard of their followers. This book that Kris Jett has published is in no way in the same ballpark as any of the work of these authors. Yes, it takes place in the mid-west. Yes, there are alpha males involved. That’s as close as the similarity comes.

The book needs more editing and polish before it could be considered to be similar to the work of these authors. There are spelling and word use errors to be corrected. There are gaps in the story that need filling and smoothing over. And Jessie’s not sassy so much as she’s just plain rude most of the time. As is Cade. Why is rudeness okay? I have no idea where the rest of the series goes. And there is a prequel. This book ends suddenly and with a rather not quite finished feeling. I guess that’s supposed to lead us to the next book in the series. I’m afraid I’m not interested in the next book.

700 wc

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

CALIATH

POETRY

The Budding Ken

opening the mind and heart through poetry

Scattered Words

scribbles by Hemendra Dibaakor

Genealogy with a Rabbit - Seriously

graveyards, gravestones, genealogy, photography, family and fun

UndeniablySara

Learning how to live well with chronic illnesses through self healing.

Spellbound Librarian

A lover of magical books : Book reviews, and general book rambling

issiaksonhudson

thoughts on thoughts.

LFBooks

One Woman Army and A Dog

Readin' Under Street-Lamps

everything books, served with a side of sarcasm.

Uptown Oracle

Books, Beauty and Lifestyle.

Passionately Perusing

Librarian. Book blogger. Reader

NextDraft

The Day's Most Fascinating News

irevuo

art. popular since 10,000 BC

Life in prison...

It certainly wasn’t on my bucket list but it happened! Here are my stories of what life is like for women in prison xoxo

The Bibliofile

Book Reviews, Books, Bestsellers, Literary Fiction

Life Has a Funny Way

Reviews of all the latest YA, Fantasy, Crime and Chic Lit novels

Quirky Reviews

Sleep is good, she said, and books are better

Inspired!!!

I only write what I'm inspired to, everything else seems mediocre

Charlie De Luca- Author

On life, writing and horses!

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

FNM

Book Reviews and More

The Daily Tales of Gregg Savage

Every day, I write a unique story for you to share and enjoy.

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

A Writer's Soul

"Diving into a writers soul is discovering the broken treasure and beautiful mysteries that make you gasp for air."

the poet's billow

a resource for moving poetry

Crow On The Wire

Poetry and pictures with a sharp crow sensibility by Mark Tulin

The RhiView

Thoughts & Opinions of a Nerd Girl...

POETRY PASSION

A PLACE FOR PROFESSIONAL & PASSIONATE POETS

Life After 50

Life at any age can be amazing! We only need to grab hold & experience it!

Madame Writer

Writing Tips and Reading Reviews

word and silence

Poetry, History, Mythology

KASHiVOLOGY

The conversations

Elan Mudrow

Smidgens

The Bold Mom

...Looking for horror? Come in.

little word studio

arts + entertainment blog

authoranonblog

Letters from inside my head

Vox Humbug

Writer, Photographer, Madman

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Musings Undwindled

Medical Student, Compulsive Writer, Obsessive Reader, Constant Cook, F.R.I.E.N.D.S Fanatic, Harry Potter Enthusiast, A Fiery Independent Woman and A Ridiculously Childish Human Being

constant VARIABLE

Apologies for my apologies

The Black Cat Speaks

...from the dark comes a voice...

The Book Review Directory

Over 150 Book Reviewer Bloggers Listed

See How We Sew

Ideas Inspiration Information

Need To Read

The books of the world : right here, right now

Alina's Reading Corner

You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend

Out on a Limb Genealogy

Genealogy with love

%d bloggers like this: